2021 UFO Challenge

My oh my, 2021 is moving full speed ahead. I decided to join the All People Quilt’s 2021 UFO Challenge this year, and am off to a good start! My local quilt shop is also doing a similar challenge, Spring Water Designs, so I put two projects to complete next to each of the 12 numbers on my list. It’s going to be a busy year! Is anyone else participating in a 2021 UFO Challenge? If you would like to see my progress, follow along on Instagram, @rendandsew.

In some non-quilting news, this weekend we finally got snow in the DC metro area! I spent the time curled up under quilts finishing This Is All I Got: A New Mother’s Search for Home by Lauren Sandler. If you haven’t read it yet, I recommend doing so. The book is written by a journalist who reports on the life of a young homeless Latina single mother attempting to navigate through New York City’s red-tape stricken assistance programs, while balancing poverty, school, and relationships. This Is All I Got: A New Mother’s Search for Home highlights the story of a young women who faces continuous disappointment, but is determined to create the best life she can for her son. The facts intertwined in the pages of this book prove an abundance of systematic failures in the need for change, and it’s important to note that this is just one case of sixty thousand people sleeping in New York City-run shelters every night and one case of the 2.5 million infants in the United States on the Women, Infants, and Children nutrition program. If you have any non-fiction book recommendations, please let me know! For now, I’ll continue to search the New York Time’s Best Seller list each month.

*Editing this post, as a Facebook friend just shared with me that there is a Girl Scout Troop specifically designed to serve girls in the New York City Shelter System, Troop 6000. I donated to them this morning (as well as a couple boxes of cookies to New York City Food Banks), and you can too by visiting their website.

Leave a comment